2015 Staff Recognition

As part of its staff recognition program, the CSIU annually celebrates the achievements of staff who are nominated by their peers for achievement, service and innovation.

Please click on the image to view a video about each awardee. 

Kudos Award Recipient

Doug Dennison
Physical Therapist

Ambassador of the Year

Darlene Dwyer
Administrative and Project Manager

Passion for Excellence Awardee

Joan Hauck
Speech Therapist

Doug Dennison, of Bloomsburg, was the recipient of the Patrick F. Toole Kudos Award. The award honors a full-time CSIU staff member whose achievement, dedication and service to schools, children and the community-at-large have advanced the CSIU mission of “enriching learning…enriching lives."

The Kudos Award was created in honor of the CSIU's first executive director, the late Dr. Patrick Toole, and was named for his favorite expression. "Kudos" was his recognition of a job well done. CSIU employees are nominated by their colleagues for the award, and then a finalist is selected from a committee of former CSIU board members, a former school administrator and a community representative. This is the 21st year for the award.

Darlene Dwyer, of Dillsburg, was named the CSIU's 2015 Ambassador of the Year. This award is presented annually to a staff member who most exemplifies the CSIU's ideals of "ambassadorship." 

The Ambassador program reaffirms the CSIU's commitment to providing outstanding customer service and forming strong partnerships. It also fosters awareness that all staff members have a part to play in the success of the organization by providing effective customer service and increasing others' knowledge about the CSIU and its programs.

Joan Hauck, of Danville, was the recipient of the CSIU's Robert G. Witten Passion for Excellence Award.

The Passion for Excellence Award was created to honor CSIU Executive Director Emeritus Dr. Robert G. Witten and his legacy of innovation, creative thinking and dedication. Devoting 46 years to his career in education, Dr. Witten served as the CSIU executive director for 17 years until he retired in 2011.