• This page is intended to provide practical resources for schools who find themselves in crisis situations. The manuals and toolkits have been vetted by area experts and school districts for support in times of tragedy.



    After a Suicide Toolkit for Schools

    Postvention Standards Manual

    Crisis Day Checklist, Milton Area School District

    What to Say Resource


    If you are seeking more information, need additional immediate or long-term planning resources, or require an emergency response and support team to help in a time of crisis, contact:

    Dr. Bernadette Boerckel
    Email: bboerckel@csiu.org
    Work: (570) 523-1155 ext. 2352
    Cell Phone: (570) 220-1803

    Dr. John Kurelja
    Email: jkurelja@csiu.org
    Work: (570) 523-1155 ext. 2333
    Cell Phone: (570) 204-1525

    These resources have been compiled by the Social and Emotional Wellness Committee of the CSIU Region. This team came together early in 2019 in response to a growing need to support area districts and their communities in the following areas:

    • Crisis training and response teams
    • Suicide prevention and response
    • Trauma-informed school models
    • MTSS systems of support for mental health
    • Social and emotional learning professional development and support

    The S&EW committee meets monthly at the CSIU and is facilitated by Bernadette Boerckel, Director of Community Outreach.


    Lynne Cromley, Chief Administrative Officer / Assistant Executive Director,  CSIU
    Randy Fox, Center for Safe Schools, Center for Schools and Community
    Alice Justice, Retired School Counselor, CSIU Consultant
    Anne Katona Linn, Consultant, Katona-Linn Consulting LLC
    Cathy Keegan, Superintendent Milton Area School District
    Timothy Knoster, Executive Director of the McDowell Institute, Professor Bloomsburg University
    John Kurelja, Chief Academic Officer / Assistant Executive Director, CSIU
    Shileste Overton-Morris, Director of the Center for Schools and Community
    Carol Paxton, Director of the Center for the Promotion of Social and Emotional Learning
    Steve Skalka, Superintendent Lewisburg Area School District
    Joanne Troutman, President & CEO of the Greater Susquehanna Valley United Way
    Ellen Withrow, Grants, Research, and Development Coordinator, CSIU
    Jennifer Williams, Director of Special Education and Early Childhood Services, CSIU